Books That Caught Our Eye

7 Comments

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received. We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie:

The Beekeeper’s Ball by Susan Wiggs @ Bookfan.

I read book one (The Apple Orchard) in this new series from Susan Wiggs and thoroughly enjoyed this contemporary romance (surprising myself as this is not my usual genre). I can’t wait to get back to Isabel’s kitchen (yes, there were yummy recipes in book one!) and find out what has been happening in Bella Vista.

 

Poison Spring: The Secret History of Pollution and the EPA by E.G. Vallianatos @ From L.A. to LA.

I’m not surprised that governments – where ever we may live – do not do enough to protect us. Every day we learn about more and more harmful chemicals that are in our food and our environment. If this book can help us avoid even a few of them we will be that much further ahead.

 

Vicki:

I saw Eugenia by Mark Tedeschi @ Sam Still Reading.

It’s an Australian true crime story of a woman who pretended to be a man and was charged with murdering her wife. In 1920. Eugenia Falleni was married twice before she was caught after a long police investigation and a three year disappearance.

I remember hearing recently about a woman who kills her husband only to find out “he” was a woman and thought at the time that would make a great book or movie. So, when I saw this book I knew I wanted to read it. I love true crime and the idea of a woman getting away with pretending to be a man and even getting married is so off the wall that I have to read about it.

 

I saw The Girl Who Came Home by Hazel Gaynor @ Savvy Verse & Wit and Tribute Books Mama. It is a story inspired by true events surrounding a group of Irish emigrants who sailed on the maiden voyage of R.M.S Titanic, of enduring love and forgiveness, spanning seventy years.

 

 

Serena:

Firefly July and Other Very Short Poems selected by Paul B. Janeczko @Bermudaonion.

This caught my eye because I’m always looking for poetry, and poems with illustrations are always a plus when you have a little one about.

 

The Hotel on Place Vendôme: Life, Death, and Betrayal at the Hôtel Ritz in Paris by Tilar J. Mazzeo @Diary of an Eccentric.

I’m always fascinated with stories that mix literary icons with real-life events — a hotel that becomes a go-to place for F. Scott Fitzgerald and comes under the command of the Nazis.  An iconic landmark’s life through history…sounds like a good read to me.

What books did you add to your wish lists this week?

7 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Thanks for featuring one of my books this week Leslie! And funny enough, I’m also really excited about The Beekeeper’s Ball since I too really enjoyed The Apple Orchard!

  2. Serena~ The whole idea of people pretending to be the opposite sex AND getting married dumbfounds me. I can’t believe they get away with it. Can’t wait to read Eugenia!!

Leave a Reply

