Kindle library lending comes to King County Public Libraries

3 Comments

Imagine my surprise last night when I logged into the library system’s eBook section to discover that they have Kindle library lending. If you’d a poked me with a stick I’d a fallen over. Giddy with excitement doesn’t even begin to describe my reaction. Kindle users all knew it was coming and now for some of us it’s here. It does show as BETA so I’m betting this is test site. Even Amazon’s home page doesn’t have any announcements about Kindle library lending being available. I’m guessing the reason the King County Library System (KCLS) was selected to be the test site is two reasons — 1) they play in the same back yard as Amazon does and 2) the library system was selected as the best and busiest library system for 2011.

It appears that almost all the eBooks at KCLS are available for the Kindle. I still had to use my Nook to check out Heat Rises (just released today) from the library. I’m thinking they just haven’t had time to get every single eBook in a Kindle edition yet. So before dashing out the door for work this morning I decided to do a test run. I wanted to see if it was easy as we’ve all been lead to believe. And it is.

1) Search the library eBook selection for a book you want

2) Proceed to checkout

3) During the checkout process a new tab opens at the Amazon book page for the book you’re requesting (you need to be logged into your Amazon account)

4) Select the ‘Get library book’ button

5) Turn on your Kindle & Wi-Fi (for 3G you have download using your USB cable)

6) Download

It’s as buying a book.

Returning books is just as easy as checking them out.

1) Log into your Amazon Account

2) Go to the “Manage Your Kindle” page

3) Under Books select the “Action” button for the title you want to return

4) Select “Return Book”

My Nook was will be getting a lot less use in the future. I have a Nook touch screen but I’d still rather be using my Kindles. Just personal preference. I will be hanging on to the Nook just in case a library eBook I want isn’t available for the Kindle or has a Kindle eBook wait list longer than I want to be on. If the Nook list is shorter I’ll place a hold there.

3 thoughts on “Kindle library lending comes to King County Public Libraries

  1. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this
    website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Great blog and terrific
    design.

  2. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what
    you are saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really
    a wonderful web site.

Leave a Reply

