Marcia’s Mailbox | 6.26

2 Comments

A Fountain Filled with Blood by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Nestled in the heart of the Adirondacks, Millers Kill, New York, is about as safe as it gets. That’s why Episcopal minister Clare Fergusson is shocked when the July Fourth weekend brings a rash of vicious assaults to the scenic town. Even Clare’s good friend, police chief Russ Van Alstyne, is shaken by the brutality of the crimes – especially when it appears that the victims were chosen because they were gay. But when a third assault on an out-of-town developer end in murder, Clare and Russ wonder if the recent crime wave is connected to the victim’s controversial plan to open an upscale spa in Millers Kill. But not all things in the tiny town are what they seem and soon, Clare and Russ are left to fight their unspoken attraction to one another, even as they uncover a labyrinthine conspiracy that threatens to turn deadly for them both…

Azalea Assault by Alyse Carlson

Roanoke, Virginia, is home to some of the country’s most exquisite gardens, and it’s Camellia Harris’ job to promote them. But when an out of towner turns up dead, she discovers there’s no good way to spin murder…

Camellia Harris has achieved a coup in the PR world. The premier national magazine for garden lovers has agreed to feature one of Roanoke’s most spectacular gardens in its pages—and world-famous photographer Jean-Jacques Georges is going to shoot the spread. But at the welcoming party, Jean-Jacques insults several guests, complains that flowers are boring, and gooses almost every woman in the room. When a body is found the next morning, sprawled across the azaleas, it’s almost no surprise that the victim is Jean-Jacques.

With Cam’s brother-in-law blamed for the crime—and her reporter boyfriend, Rob, wanting the scoop—Cam decides to use her skills to solve the murder. Luckily a PR pro like Cam knows how to be nosy…

2 thoughts on “Marcia’s Mailbox | 6.26

  1. Hi Marcia,

    I do love my murder/mystery books, so both of your ‘finds’ this week have made it straight onto my reading list.

    I see that Julis is now releasing the 7th book in the Reverend Clare Fergusson series, so I do have some catching up to do.

    Thanks for the great recommendations and I hope that you enjoy both of your books.

    Yvonne

    • Hi Yvonne,

      This actually isn’t/wasn’t a great mailbox for me. 😦

      I don’t read Ms. Spencer-Fleming but the book was sent to me from a publisher and I always post those whether I intend to read them or not. I feel it’s the least I can do in a situation where I won’t reading the book.

      And I didn’t finish reading Azalea Assault. I like my cozies to have great characters and humor/charm. I thought it was lacking both.

Leave a Reply

