Books That Caught Our Eye

16 Comments

unnamed

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

To that end, we’ve decided to share “Books that Caught Our Eye” with you. Each week, LeslieSerena and Vicki  will each share 2 books that caught their eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday and share them here.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie
1. A Circle of Wives by Alice LaPlante from Serendipity
I like a good thriller. Dr. John Taylor is found dead in a hotel room. Three wives show up at his funeral. Hmmmmm.

2. The Medea Complex by Rachel Florence Roberts from Fiction Books
I enjoy psychological thrillers and this one is based on the true story of a misunderstood woman suffering from insanity in an era when mental illnesses’ were all too often misdiagnosed and mistreated.

Serena
1. Girl of Shadows by Deborah Challinor – from Sam Still Reading  because I like the idea of following these women after they committed a brutal crime and there is the added bonus of learning more about Australia as a penal colony.

2. Careless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of The Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell — from Unabridged Chick because I’ve recently read The Great Gatsby and seen the latest movie. I’m so intrigued by what inspires writers, and this “double narrative” investigating the roots of Fitzgerald’s greatest work sounds like it would be riveting.

Vicki
1. Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler
I saw this book posted by Kristen @ BookNAround  and quickly added it to my TBR list. I love reading books about friends, and the idea of these high school friends reconnecting years later is especially interesting. I want to find out how they have changed over the years. It will be interesting to see if the changes in them improves their friendship or dampens it. I also need to find out about this hold Beth has over them.

2. House Of Glass by Sophie Littlefield
Vera @ Luxury Reading posted this book about a family robbery that turned into a family held hostage. The idea of a mother and father having to fight for the lives of their children, and themselves, drew me in.

16 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Hi Guys,

    What a great idea this post is, it really brings together all the MM contributions each week and I truly hope that it is a huge success and thank you for all your hard work and time spent trawling the MM comments each week.

    I would like to thank you for featuring my own contribution this week, ‘The Medea Complex’. Everyone has found the synopsis intriguing and perhaps even a little spooky, so I am hoping that it lives up to expectations.

    I also like the sound of ‘House Of Glass’ by Sophie Littlewood and believe that I have discovered another great new name for my reading list, so you already have one satisfied customer.

    Yvonne

  2. Always have been a night owl, even as a young child. I would stay up and watch the 11:30 pm movie and still get up and go to school. My mom didn’t mind as long as I got up in time.

  3. Love this! Thank so you much for including me. I’ve just started Girl of Shadows and all I can say is – thank goodness I have a day off this week so I can sit and read!
    Looking forward to adding even more to the wishlist!

Leave a Reply

