Books That Caught Our Eye

7 Comments

unnamed

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

To that end, we’ve decided to share “Books that Caught Our Eye” with you. Each week, LeslieSerena and Vicki  will each share 2 books that caught their eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday and share them here.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie
1. North of Boston by Elisabeth Elo from By Book or By Crook and Chaotic Compendiums
It had me with the description: “A gripping literary thriller, North of Boston combines the atmospheric chills of Jussi Adler-Olsen with the gritty mystery of Laura Lippman”.

2. The Rule of Three by Eric Walters from Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf 
I’m always ready for a good dystopian tale. In this one computers around the globe shut down in a viral catastrophe. Sounds like a disaster to me!

Serena
1. The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina because it’s set in a different country and is dystopian, but also combines “supernatural” like people (the leader of the illegals who have unique abilities), which I found on The Reading Date.

2. The Visitors by Patrick O’Keeffe that involves 2 Irish families who are linked by their heritage, secrets, and love — I’m a sucker for those stories. This one I first found at Under My Apple Tree 

Vicki
1. The Round House  by Louise Erdrich found @ Silver’s Reviews is about a woman who is living on a reservation, who is attacked, and how that act changes her, her son and her husband.

2. Queen Sugar by Natalie Baszile found @ Fiction Books is about a woman, whose father leaves her an 800 acre sugarcane farm. Even though she knows nothing about growing sugar cane, she and her son leave Los Angeles and move to the farm in Louisiana. I love the idea of “starting over” in a new state and trying to make a living from a business you know nothing about, especially when all odds are against you in more ways than one.

7 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Vicki, how funny — I saw Queen Sugar last week. I still think it sounds good. I also agree with Leslie that North of Boston sounds like a good one…but we set our limit to 2 per week! 🙂

  2. LOL! It’s hard choosing which books to add each week. If I’m not mistaken, I saw North Of Boston on last week’s MM post and almost added it to my picks. But like you said, our limit is 2, so I have to keep marking some off until I only have 2 left. My TBR list is sure growing fast!

  3. Hi Guys,

    Vicki, thank you so much for the mention this week. I am really pleased to have ‘Queen Sugar’ on my TBR pile and am looking forward to reading it.

    I have also added your second choice this week ‘The Round House’, as this sounds like another potentially intriguing storyline and emotional read and is once again, from an area which I know little or nothing about.

    Thanks for making the MM experience so much more interesting each week, I love it!

    Yvonne

  4. Saavy Verse & Wit posted about The Obedient Assassin by John P. Davidson – it’s the backstory of one of the assassins of Trotsky. I read Barbara Kingsolver’s The Lacuna a few years ago, and Trotsky’s murder as well as Frida Kahlo figured in it as well, but from the opposite perspective–the victims not the assailants.

    Diary of an Eccentric posted about Stella Bain, by Anita Shreve – it’s a WWI era novel in which a woman wakes up in a hospital without her memory. I’ve not read anything by Shreve yet, but I do want to focus somewhat on WWI era novels this year.

Leave a Reply

