Books that Caught Our Eye

8 Comments

Books That Caught Our Eye

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

To that end, we’ve decided to share “Books that Caught Our Eye” with you. Each week, Leslie, Serena and Vicki will share 2 books that caught their eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday and share them here.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Serena

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh from Spiegel & Grau because it sounds so engaging for a debut, with two mysteries, disappearances, and the secrets kept and family sacrifices. I saw this one on Under My Apple Tree.

The Taste of Apple Seeds by Katharina Hegena because I’m finding I really enjoy translations, and this was first written in German. This is about a woman who inherits her grandmother’s house in the country and she needs to decide what to do with it. I saw this on From L.A. to LA.

Vicki

When The Cypress Whispers by Yvette Manessis Corporon.
What’s not to love about this book? I love a book about family relationships and this book is about the deep bond between an American woman and her Greek grandmother who lives on an island off the coast of Greece, times together spent in the kitchen, secrets about the past, loyalty, love, and bravery in the face of death. I found this book @ Savvy Verse & Wit, and then again @ BookNAround.

Q & A a Day: 5 Year Journal by Potter Style
I know this isn’t a novel, but I love this idea, so I’m counting it as one of my picks. This is a 5 year diary with a question a day. Every year go back and answer the question for that day and you can see how your answers change over the years. Sound awesome, doesn’t it? This was found @ Book Obsessed.

Leslie

Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin from Book Dragon’s Lair.
This is not a new release, in fact it’s 20 years old, but a book I never heard of before. In the midst of arctic winds, dark nights, and white lights … a man is driven to stop time and bring back the dead. In the right mood, I enjoy fantasy and magical realism.

Nest. Flight. Sky: On Love and Loss, One Wing at a Time by Beth Kephart from Savvy Verse & Wit.
In this short memoir the author finds she has a growing obsession with birds and flight. If a book revolves around birds, I’m probably going to read it. It was the bird on the cover that first caught my eye.

8 thoughts on “Books that Caught Our Eye

  1. Winter’s Tale would have been a third book on my list this week! Great list, ladies. And two from my blog…Woah! I think you’ll like Kephart’s memoir, Leslie. And Vicki, I cannot wait to read Cypress.

  2. Serena~ I almost picked The Taste of Apple Seeds.
    Leslie~ as soon as I saw Nest. Flight. Sky: I thought it would be one of your picks!

    Everyone post so many good books, it’s really hard for me to choose just two.
    And between Mailbox Monday & Books That Caught Our Eye, my tbr list is growing like crazy

  3. I’m interested in A Winter’s Tale too–I’ve never read anything by Mark Halperin, but this does sound good.

    Since I also have a growing obsession with birds, I better check out Nest.Flight.Sky 🙂

Leave a Reply

