Books That Caught Our Eye

7 Comments

Books That Caught Our Eye

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received. We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Serena

DividesAcross Great Divides by Monique Roy from I’d Rather Be Reading At The Beach.
I love reading epic stories that involve the resiliency of the human spirit, and this is about a part of history I know little about following the Nazi rise to power, with the family in this story refusing to be destroyed by the Nazi’s hatred of Jews only to face the struggle of apartheid in South Africa.
Orphans

At Luxury Reading, I found The Orphans of Race Point by Patry Francis, which is set in Cape Code, Mass., and is a saga of love, murder, and the true meaning of faith. I have a thing for stories set in New England, probably because I grew up there. And this just sounds like the right kind of thrilling mystery and the transformative power of love.

Vicki

Hungry1. I found Hungry by H.A. Swain @ Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf. It’s about a world where you don’t have to eat food. Instead, you take a pill. No more famine, no more obesity, no more food-related illnesses? Sounds good to me!

winter2. The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon was seen at two different blogs. Both were the audio version, and were found @ Bermudaonion and @ Under My Apple Tree. This is a thriller about ghostly secrets, dark choices, and the unbreakable bond between mothers and daughters . . . sometimes too unbreakable. This sounds to good to pass on.

Leslie

SunStarsThe Sun and Other Stars by Brigid Pasulka from By Book or By Crook.
The catchy title made me want to learn more about this one. I found that it’s a coming of age story about a widowed butcher and his son set in the Italian Riviera. I love books set in Italy so this got added to my list!
quick
The Quick By Lauren Owen from Booklover Book Reviews
The description, “An astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London”, plus an intriguing cover was enough to get my interest.

7 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Leslie~ I love that you added the cover of the books!! Great idea!

    Serena~ I’m glad you like the sound of Across Great Divides, and hope you decide to read it too!

Leave a Reply

