Books That Caught Our Eye

7 Comments

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received. We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie:

Byrd by Kim Church

The title and the drawing of a bird on the cover are what made me want to learn more about this book. Once I read the description – a coming of age story told through letters and vignettes of a young woman who gives up her son for adoption – I knew I wanted to add this to my reading list. Found at Lori’s Reading Corner.

 

Waiting for Wednesday by Nicci French

I read the first two books in this series featuring complex but reclusive psychotherapist Frieda Klein. As the second book came to a conclusion, we learn there may be a serial killer on the loose and I was left anticipating the next book in the series. Definitely one I will be looking forward to reading.  Found at Chaotic Compendiums.

 

Vicki:

Ice Dogs by Terry Lynn Johnson

I’ve always loved watching anything I could find about Alaskan dogsled races. The Iditarod is fascinating to me (in fact the 2014 race just ended. Dallas Seavey was the winner.) So when I saw this book about a 14 yr. old  dogsled racer who gets lost with her dogs and runs out of food etc., I knew I wanted to read it.  I saw this book posted by @ By Book or By Crook.

Deadlock by Tim Curran sounds really really really good! I love books that gives me goosebumps and makes me keep looking over my shoulder and this sounds perfect for that. To get out of a debt, Charlie agrees to spend a night on a ship that has history of suicide, violence, mutiny and murder.  Sounds scary doesn’t it? This one was posted @ Beauty In Ruins.

 

Serena:

The Secret Daughter of the Tsar by Jennifer Laam from So Many Books, So Little Time, and it caught my attention because its an alternate history of the Romanov family about a fifth daughter smuggled out of Russia before the revolution.  There is a bit of WWII and a former ballerina, and a search for the real heir to the throne.

 

Winter Horses by Philip Kerr from By Book or By Crook and Book Dilettante, which caught my eye because it is set in 1941 in the Ukraine and involves an animal preserve and a young man who must learn to keep secrets involving a young lady hiding on the preserve.

 

 

What books did you add to your wish lists this week?

7 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Hi Leslie,

    It has to be the Nicci French book for me. I haven’t read any of this particular series and can’t imagine how I have missed out on them, so your feature has definitely placed them firmly on my radar!

    I love this midweek selection from the three of you, as when, like this week, I was unable to participate in MM, I have now been able to see the week’s best offerings in a snapshot and know that I haven’t missed out on anything vital, as all three of you have the knack of selecting some of the best new options on the shelves each week.

    Thanks and have a great weekend,

    Yvonne

    • Yvonne:

      It’s always a delight when you comment. Thanks so much for checking out the books we select each week. We often find that we nearly pick the same ones!

Leave a Reply

