Books That Caught Our Eye

10 Comments

unnamed

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

To that end, we’ve decided to share “Books that Caught Our Eye” with you. Each week,LeslieSerena and Vicki  will each share 2 books that caught their eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday and share them here.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie’s Picks:

I loved Shanghai Girls and am looking forward to Lisa See’s newest book. China Dolls is about three Chinese girls from very different backgrounds who find themselves competing at the same audition for showgirl roles at San Francisco’s exclusive “Oriental” nightclub, the Forbidden City, and takes place shortly before World War II.
I enjoy short story collections and these sounded imaginative and different: A collection of stories that captures the progress of a diverse ensemble of souls as they struggle to uncover themselves and negotiate a meaningful communion, of any kind, with the world around them.

 

 

 

Serena’s Picks:

20768931The Word Ghost by Christine Paice @ Sam Still Reading

I love a good ghost story, and this one sounds like it could be fun set in 1970s England, a new house in a village, and a 15-yr-old girl.  Strange things happen in the house and in the village.  How could you resist?

20342549The Bodies We Wear by Jeyn Roberts @ From L.A. to LA.

This sounds like a dark YA novel; something that’s far-fetched but exciting.  A young lady begins training to take on the drug dealers that forced a drug on her best friend, who died.  It’s a revenge novel, and how the best laid plans of revenge can get too complicated.

 
Vicki’s Picks:
16242287Dinner with the Smileys: One Military Family, One Year of Heroes, and Lessons for a Lifetime by Sarah Smiley
I saw this @ BookNAround
When I read the blurb I knew I had to put this on my tbr list. The author had a great idea and I love that she made it a reality! She invited a different guest (from senators to school teachers, artists to professional athletes) to dinner for every week her husband was deployed oversees. This book tells the story. Sounds interesting doesn’t it?

21361727The Thirty Nine Steps by John Buchan
I saw this @ Reading, Writing, Working, Playing
The Thirty Nine Steps is a fast paced, all action, classic adventure novel which is credited with being one of the earliest examples of the ‘man-on-the-run’ thriller. It spawned a series of film, TV and theatre adaptations including, notably, the 1935 Alfred Hitchcock film.
I’ve never read a classic espionage, so I can’t wait to read it.

10 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. The Word Ghost does sound intriguing, as does China Dolls. Love reading about that era these days.

    So looking forward to reading The Thirty-Nine Steps 🙂

  2. Hi Vicki,

    Well Done for spotting ‘The Thirty Nine Steps’, I missed this one completely.

    I too, have seen many of the film and television adaptations over the years, including the classic ‘Hitchcock’ version, however I have never read the book, so this has to be a definite for my TBR pile, as I am determined to work my way through some of the really important classics, in the very near future. They are simply too important to be ignored.

    Thanks for continuing to host and support MM and enjoy the Easter weekend,

    Yvonne

    • I’ve found so many books I want to read through BTCOE and since I’ve loved anything I’ve seen by Hitchcock so this book really interests me.

  3. Thanks for featuring me this week! I too am curious on how The Bodies We Wear will turn out. Although if I had to list my favorite from last week, China Dolls would likely be it.

Leave a Reply

