Books That Caught Our Eye

6 Comments

unnamed

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

To that end, we’ve decided to share “Books that Caught Our Eye” with you. Each week,LeslieSerena and Vicki  will each share 2 books that caught their eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday and share them here.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie’s Picks
18143967Ember Island by Kimberley Freeman at The Reading Date. Described as “A riveting story of secrets and scandal”, I had to know more. Pages from a hidden diary, a mystery and the story of two women who lived a century apart caught my interest and has the makings of a potentially riveting story.

 
7947625

Stories edited by by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio at Infinite Curio. I enjoy short stories and this sounds like a fantastic collection. There are some impressive names here and the stories are not limited to any one genre. Plus it’s edited by Neil Gaiman. I don’t think I can go wrong with this one!

 

 

Serena’s Picks

17934537Decoded by Mai Jia from @ Under My Apple Tree I love books about espionage and spies, and this sounds like a good one about an ultra-secret Chinese intelligence agency.  And did I mention its a debut?  So much goodness in this one.

 

18404248 (1)

That Night by Chevy Stevens @ I’d Rather Be at the Beach Another Chevy Stevens book; these are books that my mom and I share religiously.  This one takes a look at how prison can change a person convicted of murder at a young age.  I am jealous! I want to read this one!

 

 

 

Vicki’s Picks
20419217Quality Snacks by Andy Mozina found @ Fiction Books This books has fifteen stories. In the title story, a flavor engineer at Frito-Lay tries to win his boss’s heart with a new strategy for Doritos that aims to reposition the brand from snack food to main course. The other stories sound just as strange, or stranger.

 

20517416

Last Chain On Billie by Carol Bradley @ Kimberly’s Bookshelf. Billie is an elephant who was captured in Asia in the in 1950’s as a baby and taken to America. There she gave rides to children at a zoo and then performed for years at a circus. She was very neglected and abused. One day Billie attacked her trainer and was taken from the circus and put in a dusty barn. After a decade, and when Billie was 45, the U.S. Department of Agriculture took Billie and 15 other elephants to a sanctuary for performing elephants in Tennessee. There Billie finally learned that all humans aren’t bad people. I have a huge soft spot for animals (especially dogs), so when I saw the elephant on the cover I knew I wanted to find out what the book was about. As soon as I read that she’d been captured, I was hooked. Can’t wait to read this!!

6 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Hi Vicki,

    Thanks for choosing ‘Quality Snacks’ as one of the books which caught your eye.

    This is one of the most quirky sounding selection of stories I have come across and I am looking forward to reading it!

    I see that there are two short story nominations in your picks this week, with Leslie choosing ‘Stories’. I shall be checking this one out now!

    Yvonne.

    • I know a lot of people don’t like short stories, but I love them. When I read your post about Quality Snacks the book just struck me as very interesting and different, and I do love different! Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

