Books That Caught Our Eye

4 Comments

Books That Caught Our Eye

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received. We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Serena

HorrorstorHorrorstör by Grady Hendrix from Quirk Books @ Under My Apple Tree.

First off, this cover reminds me of those IKEA catalogs I covet. I love getting new ideas on how to get the most out of our furniture in terms of design and storage. Regardless of that, Quirk Books always puts out books that are humorous in ways that I appreciate. This one is a haunted house story in a contemporary setting, in which workers are determined to find out what is happen in their furniture store overnight!

VampiresVampires of Manhattan by Melissa de la Cruz. This is a New Adult continuation of the Blue Bloods series. The audio is performed by MacLeod Andrews. From The Reading Date.

I loved the Blue Bloods series (Ok, I haven’t had time to read them all). But I want to see what happens when they grow up. Oliver Hazard-Perry is one of my favorites from the series, and it looks like he’s a big player in this new series. I love that it’s branching out in to an adult series.

Vicki

LostGirlsThe Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around the World by Jennifer Baggett, Holly C. Corbett, Amanda Pressner @ Infinite Curio

Three friends leave everything to go on a trip around the world. Freinds and travel, two of my favorite things!!
 
 
StormSurgeStorm Surge: Hurricane Sandy, Our Warming Planet, and the Extreme Weather of the Future by Adam Sobel @ Book Dilettante.

Living in Florida, I’ve lived through some pretty awful hurricane’s, so of course this book interests me. I can’t wait to read what the author has to say.

Leslie

GardenOfLettersThe Garden of Letters by Alyson Richman. I saw this one at several blogs: Savvy Verse and Wit, Posting for Now and Diary of an Eccentric.

Coastal Villages in Italy always attract my attention. Although the beautiful cover did play a part in catching my eye.

Set against the rich backdrop of World War II Italy, Garden of Letters captures the hope, suspense, and romance of an uncertain era, in an epic intertwining story of first love, great tragedy, and spectacular bravery.

ManNatureMan V. Nature: Stories by Diane Cook at Bibliophile by the Sea and Luxury Reading.

Told with perfect rhythm and unyielding brutality, these stories expose unsuspecting men and women to the realities of nature, the primal instincts of man, and the dark humor and heartbreak of our struggle to not only thrive, but survive.

The title got my attention. I like short stories and these sound more than a little unusual.

4 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

Leave a Reply

