Books That Caught Our Eye

7 Comments

Books That Caught Our Eye

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received. We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Serena

ThreeStoryHouseThree Story House by Courtney Miller Santo @ Silver’s Reviews and @ Book Dilettante.

I love stories about home renovation, which is probably why I love the series by Wendy Wax so much about strong women who renovate homes. But I digress. This novel by Courtney Miller Santo is about the renovation of a Memphis house, but more than that its about a family and its failures to live up to expectations and their own aspirations and coming to terms with those failures. In many ways, I would expect the renovation of the house to mirror the changes with each of the cousins.

RuthsJourneyRuth’s Journey by Donald McCaig @ Luxury Reading.

Gone With the Wind — need I say more? Ok, this novel recounts the life of Ruth, or Mammy as she is known in Margaret Mitchell’s book. From her days as an abandoned child in Saint Domingue to her life in Savannah as grows up, takes her first job and comes to the home of the O’Hara’s.

Vicki

RuthsJourneyRuth’s Journey by Donald McCaig @ Luxury Reading.

Authorized by the Margaret Mitchell Estate, here is the first-ever prequel to one of the most beloved and bestselling novels of all time, Gone with the Wind. The critically acclaimed author of Rhett Butler’s People magnificently recounts the life of Mammy, one of literature’s greatest supporting characters, from her days as a slave girl to the outbreak of the Civil War.

I haven’t read Gone With The Wind, but have seen the movie and loved it, so this book really interests me. I will read GWTW before reading this though. I also saw that there is another spinoff called Rhett Butler’s People that I’d like to read also.

CancelTheWeddingCancel the Wedding by Carolyn T. Dingman @ Bermudaonion

A heartfelt fiction debut that will appeal to fans of Emily Giffin’s Southern charm and Jennifer Weiner’s compelling, emotionally resonant novels about the frustrations of blood ties, Cancel the Wedding follows one woman’s journey to discover the secrets of her mother’s hidden past—and confront her own uncertain future.

I love books about sisters and mother/daughter relationships and this sounds really good. I want to find out what their mother has been hiding.

Leslie

GirlFromTheWellThe Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco at Book Dilettante.

A dead girl walks the streets. She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

Oooh, this is perfect timing. I was looking for some new creepy books to add to my reading list for September and October for the RIP Challenge, and this certainly fits my definition of horror-worthy.

The Sound of Waves by Yukio Mishima at Sam Still Reading

SoundOfWavesSet in a remote fishing village in Japan, The Sound of Waves is a timeless story of first love. It tells of Shinji, a young fisherman and Hatsue, the beautiful daughter of the wealthiest man in the village.

While I don’t judge a book by its cover, often the cover is what makes me read a little more. This one definitely falls into that category. This is a short novel, a classic translated from Japanese. I would like to read more Asian literature and this seems a good one to try.

7 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Good selection this week! I never did read Rhett Butler’s People, but I love the premise of Ruth’s Journey–Mammy has always intrigued me.

    Cancel the Wedding does appeal too, and I read The Sound of Waves forever ago but have forgotten all but the basic idea. I would like to reread this one. This seems like a good place to start, and I agree, the cover is lovely.

Leave a Reply

