Books That Caught Our Eye

8 Comments

unnamed

Here at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

To that end, we’ve decided to share “Books that Caught Our Eye” with you. Each week, LeslieSerena and Vicki  will each share 2 books that caught their eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday and share them here.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Sorry this is late today…I had some internet issues*^$&(%!!

Here are the books that caught our eye this week:

Leslie
21840310The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins at BermudaOnion.
A debut psychological thriller. Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking.

I took the the train to the city for work for 20 years and it’s true, people and places, even those you don’t know, become familiar. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen anything shocking… but then, I don’t what the girl on the train saw! This does sound good.

The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson at Serendipity22635858
The Bookseller follows a woman in the 1960s who must reconcile her reality with the tantalizing alternate world of her dreams. Nothing is as permanent as it appears.

Ever since I began watching Mad Men I’ve been fascinated with the 60s. I lived through them, but was too young to enjoy them! So I read about it instead.

 

 

 

Serena
18050185Cathedral of the Wild by Boyd Varty from I’d Rather Be at the Beach

I love Nelson Mandela and I think it would be fascinating to find out about the place he went to recover after his imprisonment.

When Nelson Mandela was released after twenty-seven years of imprisonment, he needed a place to recover and adjust to his new life. He went to Londolozi Game Reserve. Founded over eighty years ago by Boyd Varty’s great-grandfather, Londolozi started as a hunting safari. But in 1973, Boyd’s visionary father, Dave, transformed it into a nature reserve, creating a blueprint for modern-day conservation. This transformation is the backdrop of Boyd’s family history and his own personal odyssey.

The Tudor Vendetta by C.W. Gortner from So Many Books, So Little Time 20575433

I’m not really that big into reading about the Tudors, but I love C.W. Gortner.

Upon the death of Mary I (Bloody Mary), Elizabeth I takes the throne and Brendan Prescott is called to aid the young queen amid a realm plunged into chaos and a court rife with conspiracy.

 

 

 

 

Vicki
18656792Dear Bully of Mine by Vicki Fraser found @ Library Of Clean Reads 
Self-worth, confidence and self-esteem are three qualities that can give children the strength to stand up for themselves and others. Join these three characters as they share their honest feelings with their dear bullies. Watch their internal battle as they begin to question the power that their bullies have over them. Witness their quiet evolution as they take back what is rightfully theirs; freedom to live in peace.

I’m not going to let this continue.
What you are doing is wrong.
I have every right to be happy.

I am
Worthy,
Deserving,
Strong.

Everyone can benefit from daily affirmation that they have value. This book does just that.

I can’t remember anyone ever being bullied when I went to school, but nowadays you hear about it all the time. I hate that kids get bullied. Makes me really sad. This is a short book at only 32 pages, but I think every school should have it for elementary school required reading.

 

Ghost Story by Peter Straub by Peter Straub seen @ It’s A Kind Of Magic…Book

19581

For four aging men in the terror-stricken town of Milburn, New York, an act inadvertently carried out in their youth has come back to haunt them. Now they are about to learn what happens to those who believe they can bury the past — and get away with murder.

Stephen King says “The terror just mounts and mounts.” That’s good enough for me!!

8 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Hi Ladies,

    I didn’t need to get any further than ‘Bermudaonion’s’ blog, before I had this one added to my ‘Want To Read List’.

    I love a good psychological thriller, so Leslie, this book has my vote this week.

    Thanks for sharing and have a good weekend all of you,

    Yvonne

  2. It does look good Yvonne, and I almost chose it as one of my picks.
    In the end the book about bullies and the recommendation from King won out.

    • There are so many great books to choose from the MM post, and it’s hard to choose just two. But we just have to keep narrowing them down.

      I was so happy when I won Cathedral Of The Wild from Tanya @ Mom’s Small Victories and I can’t wait to read it.

  3. The Bookseller looks delicious! And I watched Peter Straub’s Ghost Story many years ago and can still work myself up into a nightmare over it (so thanks for that!). It’s a creepy one for sure.

Leave a Reply

