Mailbox Monday

8 Comments

mailboxsqurrielMailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Tonight is Oscar Night here in the US. I watch the show more for the fashion and fun than I do for awards since I rarely see movies before they are released on DVD. However, some of the best movies from Hollywood have been based on books, and this year there are six that are nominated in various categories:

  • Travelling to Infinity by Jane Hawking
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • Still Alice by Lisa Genova
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  • Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges
  • American Sniper by Chris Kyle

I only managed to read one of them – Gone Girl – and also saw the movie. How about you? Seen or read any of these? Are you watching the Oscars?

But, I digress! Hope everyone had a good week and a few new books in their mailbox.

Join in by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:

MrLinky
 
 
Be sure to stop back here on Wednesday when I will post a selection of Books That Caught Our Eye.

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. I haven’t seen any of the nominated movies because I wait for DVDs. Of the books I’ve only read STILL ALICE and look forward to the film. I may watch the Red Carpet show 🙂

  2. I normally wait for DVD or streaming too, but it is great to see the film adaptations of novels being made to such high standard that they are in the running for awards.

    PS: Apologies about the error I made, touch screen slip up, in my first attempt at linking up today 🙂

Leave a Reply

