Books That Caught Our Eye

3 Comments
DragonLegendsHere at Mailbox Monday, we want to encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.Here are the books that caught our eye this week…

Leslie

Crossfades by William Todd Rose at Savvy Verse and Wit

CrossfadesIn a dark horror novella for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz, one unsuspecting man faces a mass murderer who’s turned the afterlife into his own terrifying playground.

Some men fear their own deaths. Others dream of peace and heaven. But Albert knows exactly what he wants: to be the lord of his own private hell, where his eternal reward will be torturing the souls of his victims. And he knows how to get it.

“This sounds delightfully creepy… and I like creepy!”
 
 
 
Miss Dreamsville and the Lost Heiress of Collier County by Amy Hill Hearth at BookNAround.

MissDreamsvilleJust as Hearth’s debut explored the ways we can find a sense of belonging in other people, her latest novel shows how closely tied each of us is to our sense of home—and the conflicts that can arise when our idea of that home becomes threatened.

For Darryl, the river is a place ripe for development. For Dora, who’s known as the Turtle Lady because she rescues Everglades “snappers,” it’s a place that belongs to the critters. And for Dolores, former stripper, it’s a place to hide from the world…

“This has a unique, quirky sound to it. Plus there’s a bird on the cover—that will always grab my attention!”

Serena

A Planet for Rent by Yoss at Dolce Bellezza.

PlanetForRentA Planet for Rent, Yoss critiques ‘90s Cuba by drawing parallels with a possible Earth of the not-so-distant future. Wracked by economic and environmental problems, the desperate planet is rescued, for better or worse, by alien colonizers, who remake the planet as a tourist destination. Ruled over by a brutal interstellar bureaucracy, dispossessed humans seek better lives via the few routes available — working for the colonial police; eking out a living as black marketeers, drug dealers, or artists; prostituting themselves to exploitative extraterrestrial visitors — or they face the cold void of space in rickety illegal ships.

“I don’t read a lot of sci-fi, but I’m interested in new voices in fiction and in books that stem from environmental problems, especially since that’s such a current prevailing concern.”

Hotel Moscow by Talia Carner at Luxury Reading.

HotelMoscowBrooke Fielding, a thirty-eight year old New York investment manager and daughter of Jewish Holocaust survivors, finds her life suddenly upended in late September 1993 when her job is unexpectedly put in jeopardy. Brooke accepts an invitation to join a friend on a mission to Moscow to teach entrepreneurial skills to Russian business women, which will also give her a chance to gain expertise in the new, vast emerging Russian market. Though excited by the opportunity to save her job and be one of the first Americans to visit Russia after the fall of communism, she also wonders what awaits her in the country that persecuted her mother just a generation ago.

Inspired by the women she meets, Brooke becomes committed to helping them investigate the crime that threatens their businesses. But as the uprising of the Russian parliament against President Boris Yeltsin turns Moscow into a volatile war zone, Brooke will find that her involvement comes at a high cost. For in a city where “capitalism” is still a dirty word, where neighbors spy on neighbors and the new economy is in the hands of a few dangerous men, nothing Brooke does goes unnoticed–and a mistake in her past may now compromise her future.

“Anyone who knows me, knows that I like WWII-related fiction, and there is something about Russia that is alluring — from its prestigious royalties to its darkest years and the continued turmoil the nation still faces.”

Vicki

Lost and by Jeff Griffin @ Savvy Verse And Wit.

LostAndEver since he was a child sitting in the back of his parents’ car, Jeff Griffin has been taking explorative journeys into the desert. In 2007, as an art student, he started wandering the back roads of the Mojave Desert with the purpose of looking for a place to reflect in the harshly beautiful surroundings. What he found were widely scattered postmodern ruins—abandoned trailers and campers and improvised structures—whose vanished occupants had left behind, in their trash, an archaeological record of astonishing richness and poignancy.

“I love books about any kind of walking journey, and the idea of finding abandoned trailers etc. in the Mojave Desert has me excited to read it.​”

When the Moon Is Low by Nadia Hashimi @ Book Diletta​n​te.

MoonIsLowMahmoud’s passion for his wife Fereiba, a schoolteacher, is greater than any love she’s ever known. But their happy, middle-class world—a life of education, work, and comfort—implodes when their country is engulfed in war, and the Taliban rises to power.

Mahmoud, a civil engineer, becomes a target of the new fundamentalist regime and is murdered. Forced to flee Kabul with her three children, Fereiba has one hope to survive: she must find a way to cross Europe and reach her sister’s family in England. With forged papers and help from kind strangers they meet along the way, Fereiba make a dangerous crossing into Iran under cover of darkness. Exhausted and brokenhearted but undefeated, Fereiba manages to smuggle them as far as Greece. But in a busy market square, their fate takes a frightening turn when her teenage son, Saleem, becomes separated from the rest of the family.

Faced with an impossible choice, Fereiba pushes on with her daughter and baby, while Saleem falls into the shadowy underground network of undocumented Afghans who haunt the streets of Europe’s capitals. Across the continent Fereiba and Saleem struggle to reunite, and ultimately find a place where they can begin to reconstruct their lives.

“So far from what I usually read, but for some reason this book just wouldn’t get out of my head, so I gave in.”

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. Hotel Moscow sounds good to me, too. And while I don’t read much sci-fi myself, A Planet For Rent sounds more realistic than not (and therefore all the more intriguing).

  2. What great picks, ladies, and I can’t believe two books from my list made it this week! Wow. I read Lost And and I think it would work better in print than ebook, which is how I read it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s