Books That Caught Our Eye

3 Comments

Sorry for the delay!

At Mailbox Monday we encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

Every Wednesday we will each share two books that caught our eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

VICKI:

The Neighbors by Ania Ahlborn @Rainy Days And Mondays

Andrew Morrison sacrificed everything—his childhood, his education, and the girl of his dreams—to look after his alcoholic mother. But enough is enough, and now he’s determined to get out and live his life. That means trading the home he grew up in for a rented room in the house of an old childhood friend— both of which are in sorry shape.

The only thing worse than Drew’s squalid new digs and sullen new roommate is the envy he feels for the house next door: a picture-perfect suburban domicile straight out of Norman Rockwell, with a couple of happy householders to match. But the better acquainted he gets with his new neighbors—especially the sweet and sexy Harlow Ward—the more he suspects unspeakable darkness beyond the white picket fence.

Sounds interesting. I like scary!

Those Secrets We Keep by Emily Liebert @A Nurse And A Book

On the surface, Sloane has the perfect life—an adoring husband, a precocious daughter, and enough financial security to be a stay-at-home mom. Still, she can’t help but feel as though something—or someone—is missing….

Hillary has a successful career and a solid marriage. The only problem is her inability to conceive. And there’s a very specific reason why….

As the wild-child daughter of old family money, Georgina has never had to accept responsibility for anything. So when she realizes an unexpected life change could tie her down forever, she does exactly what she’s always done: escape.

When these three women unite for a three-week-long summer vacation in beautiful Lake George, New York, even with the idyllic location as their backdrop, the tensions begin to mount. And they quickly discover that no secret can be kept forever….

This sounds so good! Three friends, on vacation at a lake, and there are secrets!

LESLIE:

The Summer of Secrets by Sarah Jasmon @Bakey’s Book Blog

One day she was there . . . and the next day, the day after the fire, she was gone.

In the summer of 1983, when Helen is sixteen, Victoria Dover and her eccentric family move in next door, at once making her lonely world a more thrilling place. But the summer ends with a terrible tragedy, and everyone involved – her father and the entire Dover family – simply disappears.

Then one day, thirty years later, Victoria comes back.

A suspenseful, spell-binding coming-of-age story about young friendship, damaged families and how one simple action on a long, sultry summer can echo through the years.

Sounds like my kind of suspenseful thriller… and a good summer read.

Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book by Johanna Basford @Posting for Now.

Tumble down the rabbit hole and find yourself in an inky black-and-white wonderland.

This interactive activity book takes you on a ramble through a secret garden created in beautifully detailed pen-and-ink illustrations—all waiting to be brought to life through coloring, but each also sheltering all kinds of tiny creatures just waiting to be found. And there are also bits of the garden that still need to be completed by you.

Appealing to all ages, the intricately-realized world of the Secret Garden is both beautiful and inspirational.

This is just too cute. Perfect for the nature-lover, adults included! The very first sketch on the look inside preview is a bird at a feeder. Squeeeee!

SERENA:

Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey @Bookfan

An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is the kind of love story that will sweep you away from the very first page. Iona Grey’s prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can’t bear to let them go.

Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can’t help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time.

In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable love that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival at one in five. The odds are stacked against the pair; the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope—inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime—will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in a powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton.

I cannot resist WWII books or those that involve letters.

Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book by Johanna Basford @Posting for Now

Tumble down the rabbit hole and find yourself in an inky black-and-white wonderland.

This interactive activity book takes you on a ramble through a secret garden created in beautifully detailed pen-and-ink illustrations—all waiting to be brought to life through coloring, but each also sheltering all kinds of tiny creatures just waiting to be found. And there are also bits of the garden that still need to be completed by you.

Appealing to all ages, the intricately-realized world of the Secret Garden is both beautiful and inspirational.

I love coloring with my kid, and so this is perfect for me and her.

What books caught your eye?

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Books That Caught Our Eye

  1. I know I’d like Those Secrets We Keep. After seeing Secret Garden at Pat’s blog I ordered it for my sister-in-law’s birthday. I know she’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s