Books That Caught Our Eye

1 Comment

dragonlegendsAt Mailbox Monday we encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

Every Wednesday we will each share two books that caught our eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

LESLIE:

The Family Next Door by Sally Hepworth at Bookfan.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street. Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

MARTHA:

Tribal Affairs by Matt Dallmann found at Library of Clean Reads.

Dahlia, a centuries old genie, lies hopelessly trapped in a damaged golden locket charm attached to an ankle bracelet. Its owner, sixteen-year-old Liana, wears it for the first time during her father Jamison’s opening night illusion spectacular. Not only does its presence cause Jamison to folly his performance, but it also starts a chain of bizarre events that lead to a showdown with Dahlia’s mortal enemy, Stefan, and an unsuspecting romance between Liana and his son

“I wasn’t sure about the unusual cover, then ‘genie and romance’ caught my eye.”

Slay Bells Ring (A Caprice De Luca Mystery) by Karen Rose Smith found at Lori’s Reading Corner.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, especially now that Caprice De Luca has wrapped up her holiday-themed staging gig at a stunning historic home in downtown Kismet, Pennsylvania. Behind all the red ribbon and glowing string lights, homeowners Chris and Sara Merriweather have it all. But Chris, a Vietnam vet who plays Santa every year at the community park, has been displaying strange behavior after a recent trip to Washington, D.C.

The joy of the season vanishes entirely when Chris is found murdered on Santa Lane, leaving behind his loyal malamute and lots of unfinished business. As Caprice uncovers hidden secrets in Santa’s workshop, the pressure is on to catch the candy cane-wielding culprit–before she’s next on a killer’s deadly wish list . . .

“I was drawn by this cover…dog and Christmas!”

SERENA:

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz at Read with Katie.

Autonomous features a rakish female pharmaceutical pirate named Jack who traverses the world in her own submarine. A notorious anti-patent scientist who has styled herself as a Robin Hood heroine fighting to bring cheap drugs to the poor, Jack’s latest drug is leaving a trail of lethal overdoses across what used to be North America—a drug that compels people to become addicted to their work.

On Jack’s trail are an unlikely pair: an emotionally shut-down military agent and his partner, Paladin, a young military robot, who fall in love against all expectations. Autonomous alternates between the activities of Jack and her co-conspirators, and Joe and Paladin, as they all race to stop a bizarre drug epidemic that is tearing apart lives, causing trains to crash, and flooding New York City.

I happen to like pirates and Robin Hood, so this seems fitting for me, especially since autonomous everything is all over the news these days.

Happy Mail by Walter Foster Jr Creative Team at Under My Apple Tree.

Guided by the lettering artists behind the Hello!Lucky letterpress greeting cards, you will learn the basics of how to create beautiful hand-lettered designs and how to apply your hand-lettering skills to creating beautiful cards, stationery, envelopes, and more. Happy Mail introduces a variety of lettering styles, including the basics of brush calligraphy, and the basics of writing and mailing letters the old-fashioned way. Once you learn and practice several different lettering styles, follow along with the simple step-by-step projects to create beautiful, personalized, and hand-written letters, cards, and envelopes to share with your loved ones.

Includes more than 40 perforated cards and stationery designs as a fun bonus! Simply tear out, decorate, and mail your masterpieces to family and friends.

We’re on a crafting kick in my house. Probably because we can do it together with the little free time we have since she’s back in school and she has homework nearly every night.

What books caught your eye this week? Share in the comments.

Advertisements

One thought on “Books That Caught Our Eye

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s