Books That Caught Our Eye

Leave a comment

dragonlegendsAt Mailbox Monday we encourage participants to not only share the books they received but to check out the books others have received. Each week will share a few Books That Caught Our Eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday.

We are so happy to welcome EMMA on board this month as a new host. We’ll get to see what catches her eye.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

 

EMMA:

CounterfeitWife

The Counterfeit Wife: A Revolutionary War Mystery by Mally Becker found at The Book Connection.

Philadelphia, June 1780. George Washington’s two least likely spies return, masquerading as husband and wife as they search for traitors in Philadelphia.

Months have passed since young widow Becca Parcell and former printer Daniel Alloway foiled a plot that threatened the new nation. But independence is still a distant dream, and General Washington can’t afford more unrest, not with food prices rising daily and the value of money falling just as fast.

At the General’s request, Becca and Daniel travel to Philadelphia to track down traitors who are flooding the city with counterfeit money. Searching for clues, Becca befriends the wealthiest women in town, the members of the Ladies Association of Philadelphia, while Daniel seeks information from the city’s printers.

But their straightforward mission quickly grows personal and deadly as a half-remembered woman from Becca’s childhood is arrested for murdering one of the suspected counterfeiters.

With time running out—and their faux marriage breaking apart—Becca and Daniel find themselves searching for a hate-driven villain who’s ready to kill again.

——–

SERENA:

BoneOrchardThe Bone Orchard by Sara Mueller at The Infinite Curio.

Charm is a witch, and she is alone. The last of a line of conquered necromantic workers, now confined within the yard of regrown bone trees at Orchard House, and the secrets of their marrow.

Charm is a prisoner, and a survivor. Charm tends the trees and their clattering fruit for the sake of her children, painstakingly grown and regrown with its fruit: Shame, Justice, Desire, Pride, and Pain.

Charm is a whore, and a madam. The wealthy and powerful of Borenguard come to her house to buy time with the girls who aren’t real.

Except on Tuesdays, which is when the Emperor himself lays claim to his mistress, Charm herself.

But now—Charm is also the only person who can keep an empire together, as the Emperor summons her to his deathbed, and charges her with choosing which of his awful, faithless sons will carry on the empire—by discovering which one is responsible for his own murder.

If she does this last thing, she will finally have what has been denied her since the fall of Inshil—her freedom. But she will also be betraying the ghosts past and present that live on within her heart.

Charm must choose. Her dead Emperor’s will or the whispers of her own ghosts. Justice for the empire or her own revenge.

“This sounds like an excellent read for October and the RIP Challenge.”

——–

MannersandMonsters
Manners and Monsters Collection: A Regency paranormal mystery series
by Tilly Wallace at Reviews by Martha’s Bookshelf.

Hannah Miles navigates the etiquette of monster hunting through the parlours of a magical Regency England. This collection contains:

1. Manners and Monsters

Hannah Miles lives a quiet existence, helping her parents conduct research into a most terrible affliction – until a gruesome murder during her best friend’s engagement party pulls her from the shadows. Hannah must work with the obnoxious Viscount Wycliff to find the murderer before the season is ruined.

2. Galvanism and Ghouls

A new Unnatural horror is about to rattle Hannah Miles’ quiet existence, and it’s not the short-tempered viscount prowling the hallways of her home. can Hannah and Wycliff find the monster – and will it be the hand that wields the scalpel, or the creature hiding in the dark?

3. Gossip and Gorgons

The newly married Lord and Lady Wycliff are cordially invited to a house party—to be mocked and ridiculed as entertainment. But someone among the house guests has murder on their mind. The newlyweds need to determine who, as guests are immortalised is stone…

“I am going with the spooky books this week. I love short stories and this audiobook has some very interesting ones, plus they are mysteries.”

——–

MARTHA:

WatkinsEnglishFolktalesThe Watkins Book of English Folktales by Neil Philip found at A Universe in Words.

With a foreword by Neil Gaiman, this comprehensive, entertaining and authentic collection of English folktales is perfect for fans of Madeline Miller, Philip Pullman and the Brothers Grimm.

This is a golden treasury of over one hundred English folktales captured in the form they were first collected in past centuries. Read these classic tales as they would have been told when storytelling was a living art – when the audience believed in boggarts and hobgoblins, local witches and will-o’-the-wisps, ghosts and giants, cunning foxes and royal frogs. Find “Jack the Giantkiller”, “Tom Tit Tot” and other quintessentially English favourites, alongside interesting borrowings, such as an English version of the Grimms’ “Little Snow White” – as well as bedtime frighteners, including “Captain Murderer”, as told to Charles Dickens by his childhood nurse.

Neil Philip has provided a full introduction and source notes on each story that illustrate each tale’s journey from mouth to page, and what has happened to them on the way. These tales rank among the finest English short stories of all time in their richness of metaphor and plot and their great verbal dash and daring.

“This collection of classic folktales brings back many memories.”

——–

GoneforGoudaGone for Gouda (Cheese Shop Mystery #2) by Korina Moss at Carstairs Considers.

Things are going from gouda to bad to ugly for cheesemonger Willa Bauer in Gone for Gouda.

Yarrow Glen’s newest cheese shop, Curds & Whey, has a lot on its plate, but cheesemonger Willa Bauer relishes a challenge. There’s a float to build for the fall festival, plus the French-inspired cheese shop is playing host to celebrity vegan chef Phoebe Winston. But when photos surface that prove this vegan influencer is, in fact, a carnivore, things crumble faster than any cheese on the market: Phoebe is murdered. Willa’s employee, the affable Archie, was the last one to see Phoebe alive and the first person the police suspect. To clear his name Willa must uncover who’s been up to no gouda

“Anything with cheese gets my attention and cozy mystery is a plus.”

What books caught your eye this week?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.