Mailbox Monday

2 Comments

sunflowermailbox-sml_img_2937_edited-2Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

I apparently am in denial that it is no longer August and that September has arrived.  Sorry for the delay in posting Mailbox Monday.  Things have been crazy with work and packing things to get ready for the housing market.

How was your week? Tell us about your new books by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:

Be sure to stop back later this week for Books That Caught Our Eye.

Advertisements

Books That Caught Our Eye

2 Comments
DragonLegendsAt Mailbox Monday we encourage participants to not only share the books they received, but to check out the books others have received.

Every Wednesday we will each share two books that caught our eye from that week’s Mailbox Monday.

We encourage you to share the books that caught your eye in the comments.

Serena

By the Book by Julia Sonneborn @ Lori’s Reading Corner.

An English professor struggling for tenure discovers that her ex-fiancé has just become the president of her college—and her new boss—in this whip-smart modern retelling of Jane Austen’s classic Persuasion.

Anne Corey is about to get schooled.

An English professor in California, she’s determined to score a position on the coveted tenure track at her college. All she’s got to do is get a book deal, snag a promotion, and boom! She’s in. But then Adam Martinez—her first love and ex-fiancé—shows up as the college’s new president.

Anne should be able to keep herself distracted. After all, she’s got a book to write, an aging father to take care of, and a new romance developing with the college’s insanely hot writer-in-residence. But no matter where she turns, there’s Adam, as smart and sexy as ever. As the school year advances and her long-buried feelings begin to resurface, Anne begins to wonder whether she just might get a second chance at love.

Funny, smart, and full of heart, this modern ode to Jane Austen’s classic explores what happens when we run into the demons of our past…and when they turn out not to be so bad, after all.

“I love a good re-telling, especially of Jane Austen novels. This one is a retelling of Persuasion, which is one I rarely see retold.”

——–

This Book is Full of Monsters @ Imperfect Christian Mom.

This is a book full of monsters: small, smelly, yelling, creepy… monsters! So it’s a book for hard core monster lovers, but also for beginners in monsterology. With shock effects!

“My daughter and I enjoy these kinds of books. We love Halloween and monsters.”

Martha

Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller found at Under My Apple Tree and BermudaOnion’s Weblog.

For fans of Black Mirror and HBO’s Westworld, and readers of James Dashner and Veronica Roth, Otherworld is the first book in New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller’s new YA sci-fi-thriller series.

The future is now. And the future is terrifying. There are no screens. There are no controls. You don’t just see and hear it–you taste, smell, and touch it too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey.
You can live your best life. Indulge every desire.

It’s a game so addictive you’ll never want it to end. Until you realize that you’re the one being played.
Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind. The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we’ll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

“This sounds like intriguing sci fi.”

——–

The Pursuit of Lady Harriett (Tanglewood Book 3) by Rachael Anderson found at vvb32.

When wills clash and hearts collide, who will reign victorious?

Termed an Incomparable during her first London season, Lady Harriett Cavendish is beautiful, spirited, and confident, capturing the attention of a great many suitors. Unfortunately, they all failed to capture her attention, and she concluded the season as unattached as she’d begun it.

Only weeks prior to her second season, Harriett encounters Lieutenant Christopher Jamison while visiting Tanglewood Manor. Recently returned from war, the lieutenant is everything that Harriett’s previous suitors were not. He’s arrogant, ungentlemanly, irritating, and challenges her at every opportunity. When he goes too far, Harriett decides that it’s time to turn the tables on him. But as she sets out to put the lieutenant in his place once and for all, she discovers there is more to him than meets the eye, and when it comes to matters of the heart, she has no control whatsoever.

“This is just the type of historical I enjoy.”

Leslie

The History of Bees by Maja Lunde at Sam Still Reading.

England, 1852. William is a biologist and seed merchant, who sets out to build a new type of beehive—one that will give both him and his children honour and fame.

United States, 2007. George is a beekeeper and fights an uphill battle against modern farming, but hopes that his son can be their salvation.

China, 2098. Tao hand paints pollen onto the fruit trees now that the bees have long since disappeared. When Tao’s young son is taken away by the authorities after a tragic accident—and she is kept in the dark about his whereabouts and condition—she sets out on a grueling journey to find out what happened to him…

“Nature: past, present, and future — my kind of novel.”

Mailbox Monday

3 Comments

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

No, that’s not my mailbox in the photo, although the way the weeds have been growing it could be if I didn’t keep after them. Summer is winding down and this is my last week of Mailbox Monday for a few months.

How was your week? Tell us about your new books by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:

Be sure to stop back later this week for Books That Caught Our Eye.

Mailbox Monday

5 Comments

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

We are zooming along towards the end of the summer here in the Northern Hemisphere. But there is still plenty of time to dive into those summer reads in the TBR pile.

The excitement this week is the upcoming solar eclipse visible over a large area of the US. By the time I realized there were “eclipse glasses,” everyone was sold out. So I will be watching the live stream on Nasa TV.

How was your week? Tell us about your new books by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:

Be sure to stop back later this week for Books That Caught Our Eye.

Mailbox Monday

3 Comments

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Another week, another Monday. That went by fast! Hope everyone is finding some time to read a good book. Once again I’ve been listening more than reading and am thankful for all the audio books I receive.

Tell us about your new books by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:

Be sure to stop back later this week for Books That Caught Our Eye.

Mailbox Monday

5 Comments

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

It’s August, and summer is winding down for us folks in the north. I’m seeing back-to-school ads and the college kids are already packing up and leaving. My garden did well this year — lots of flowers and veggies, probably due to our mild, rainy summer in the Midwest. Unfortunately my sunflowers didn’t come up this year so I resurrected the photo above from years past.

Hope everyone had a good book week. And good weather too! Weather seems to be a universal constant! Tell us about your new books by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:

Be sure to stop back here on Wednesday for Books That Caught Our Eye.

Mailbox Monday

7 Comments

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

July is ending so the Gone to the Beach Mailbox will close up. But we’ll still be sharing lots of books. Thanks everyone for linking up. We enjoy seeing what YOU are reading!

Tell us about your new books by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky below:


Be sure to stop back here on Wednesday for Books That Caught Our Eye.